Skip to main content

2022 Awardees

Katherine O'Brien, 2022 Carter AwardKatherine L. O’Brien, MD, MPH, Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award

The Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award honors individuals whose outstanding humanitarian efforts and achievements have contributed significantly to improving global public health.

Katherine L. O’Brien, MD, MPH, director of the Department of Immunization, Vaccines, and Biologicals at the World Health Organization (WHO), will receive the 2022 Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award in recognition of her achievements as an international leader in vaccinology and a tireless champion for global vaccine equity. In her role at WHO, she has provided outstanding leadership in shaping the COVID-19 vaccine global strategy, while being a major voice for equitable vaccine access in low- and middle-income countries.


Barney S. Graham, MD, PhDBarney S. Graham, MD, PhD, Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement

The Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement honors scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the understanding of infectious diseases and public health.

Barney S. Graham, MD, PhD, senior advisor for Global Health Equity and professor of Medicine and Microbiology, Biochemistry, and Immunology at Morehouse School of Medicine, and former deputy director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Vaccine Research Center at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), will receive the 2022 Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement in recognition of his outstanding work in viral pathogenesis and vaccine development, culminating in his lab’s foundational discovery leading to safe and effective SARS-CoV-2 vaccines worldwide.

Bruce G. Gellin, MD, MPH

Bruce G. Gellin, MD, MPH, John P. Utz Leadership Award

The John P. Utz Leadership Award honors individuals who exemplify and support NFID leadership goals, through service to NFID and/or the field of infectious diseases.

Bruce G. Gellin, MD, MPH, senior vice president at The Rockefeller Foundation and chief of global public health strategy for the Pandemic Prevention Institute, will receive the 2022 John P. Utz Leadership Award in recognition of his leadership and lifelong work to prevent infections through education, communication, and collaboration, as evidenced by his numerous national and international positions focusing on the reduction of infectious diseases through vaccination. Throughout his distinguished career, he has held numerous positions leading and advising on global immunization, strategic policy development, and pandemic preparedness and response at national, multinational, non-governmental, and institutional organizations.



Learn more about the 2022 awardees

Honor the NFID awardees and donate to support our important work

The awards will be presented at the 2022 NFID Awards Gala & Silent Auction, a black-tie event scheduled for December 8, 2022, in Washington, DC (based on public health recommendations at that time). The 2022 Gala will mark the kick-off of a year-long celebration of the 50th Anniversary of NFID. Tickets and sponsorship opportunities will be available online at this summer. All contributions support the NFID mission to educate the public and healthcare professionals on the prevention and treatment of infectious diseases.